The Old Ways ~ People Of The Snow ~ Evacuation Because Of Too Much Snow ~ Sadness

I used to live in this community . And now you know one reason I love endless summer

Letters From The Side Of a Sleeping Volcano

Feb. 9, 2015

Hi,

Heavy snow blankets houses as residents of Kitimat, B.C., dig out Saturday afternoon, Feb. 7, 2015, after a snowstorm that left about 180 centimeters piled up, knocking out power and blocking streets. Photograph by: Robin Rowland , THE CANADIAN PRESSHeavy snow blankets houses as residents of Kitimat, B.C., dig out Saturday afternoon, Feb. 7, 2015, after a snowstorm that left about 180 centimeters piled up, knocking out power and blocking streets.
Photograph by: Robin Rowland , THE CANADIAN PRESS

There was a time when I lived in a small Indian village on the north coast of British Columbia Canada. For almost five years I had the privilege to be trained in the Old Ways and beliefs by those who still knew them. I still carry their gifts in my heart. I hopefully always will.

One day as I sat drinking coffee with an Old One I asked him what the greatest change was in his long life. Here I should mention that his grandparents lived in a time when the Indian was still the dominant human on the north coast. The Old Ways (both the…

View original post 440 more words

Leave a Reply

